Seed 2.1 Turbo suits engineering teams running high-volume agent or coding pipelines on Volcano Engine who want Seed 2.1 Pro's feature set at Turbo's lower cost. ByteDance claims parity with GPT-5.5 across coding, agent, and multimodal tasks, but no independent evaluation confirms that yet, so teams needing verified benchmarks before sign-off should test it or default to Seed 2.1 Pro.
Seed 2.1 Turbo is the budget-tier model in ByteDance's Seed 2.1 lineup, launched June 2026 as the lighter counterpart to Seed 2.1 Pro. It takes text and image input for coding and long-chain agent workflows and ships exclusively through Volcano Engine (Volcano Ark), ByteDance's enterprise cloud platform, rather than AWS, Google Cloud, or Azure.
Where it sits
- $0.825/M$ per 1M tokensBlended price (3:1)Lower is better#23 / 64peer median $1.70/Mvendor price, checked by HokAI
- --tokens/sOutput speedHigher is better-- / 39peer median 90 tok/scited: Artificial Analysis
- --% solvedSWE-bench VerifiedHigher is better-- / 28peer median 78.3%per source, see benchmark scores
- --% correctGPQA DiamondHigher is better-- / 44peer median 88.3%per source, see benchmark scores
Ranks are against GA models on HokAI that publish the same figure; ties share a rank.
Provider: ByteDance · Family: Seed 2.1
Input modalities: text, image, tool-calls · Output: text, tool-calls
About Seed 2.1 Turbo
Seed 2.1 Turbo (internally designated Doubao-Seed-2.1-Turbo) is ByteDance's cost-optimized production model in the Seed 2.1 family, released in June 2026 alongside the flagship Seed 2.1 Pro. ByteDance built the generation around three goals: end-to-end coding delivery from requirements through validation, long-chain agent task execution, and multimodal understanding of visual and video content. Turbo carries the same feature set as Pro, with ByteDance describing its performance as approaching Pro rather than matching it exactly.
ByteDance claims the Seed 2.1 series matches GPT-5.5 across those three pillars, a vendor claim with no independent verification published at launch. Third-party analysts who tested early access informally placed Seed 2.1 Pro in the Claude Opus 4.6-4.7 class, but no Turbo-specific scores on SWE-bench Verified, GPQA Diamond, AIME 2025, or MMLU-Pro have been released. The predecessor Seed 2.0 Pro scored 76.5 on SWE-bench and 98.3 on AIME 2025 under ByteDance's own testing, a directional reference only, since Turbo is the lighter model in the new generation.
ByteDance has not disclosed a confirmed context window for Turbo; the Seed 2.0 Lite variant supported 262K tokens, but that figure does not carry over automatically to a different model generation. Turbo accepts text and image input and returns text and tool-calls, with function calling in OpenAI-compatible format and structured output for pipelines that need deterministic formatting. It does not handle audio input or output, and video generation sits under ByteDance's separate Seedance product line.
Turbo is API-only through Volcano Engine (Volcano Ark), with the Coze platform offering a no-code alternative for teams that prefer visual agent building. ByteDance applies standard RLHF alignment and had not published a dedicated system card for Turbo as of the June 2026 release. As a Chinese company, ByteDance operates under PRC data regulations, worth reviewing directly for teams in regulated industries before production deployment.
Pricing
Volcano Engine prices Seed 2.1 Turbo natively at CNY 3 per 1M input tokens and CNY 15 per 1M output tokens, about $0.41 and $2.07 USD at June 2026 exchange rates, exactly half of Seed 2.1 Pro's CNY 6/$0.83 input and CNY 30/$4.14 output rate. No batch discount, cached-input rate, or provisioned-throughput pricing was announced at launch, and pricing is quoted natively in CNY so USD budgets should carry an exchange-rate buffer.
What a real job costs
| Job | Input | Output | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Summarise a 20-page PDF | $0.012 | $0.0021 | $0.014 |
| Support reply | $0.0008 | $0.0006 | $0.0014 |
| One coding agent run | $0.082 | $0.041 | $0.123 |
Budgets: 20-page PDF = 30k in / 1k out · Support reply = 2k in / 300 out · Coding agent run = 200k in / 20k out. Computed from the vendor's per-token prices at render time; cached-input discounts are not applied.
Key Features
- Long-Chain Agent Task Execution: Designed for multi-step workflows covering project planning, document processing, and tool use in sequence, with ByteDance positioning it as a production-grade agent model.
- Full-Cycle Coding Delivery: Targets coding tasks from requirement analysis through implementation and validation, not just code completion.
- Multimodal Text and Image Input: Accepts text and image inputs; ByteDance built improved visual and video understanding into the Seed 2.1 generation as a core capability.
- OpenAI-Compatible Tool Calls: Supports OpenAI-compatible tool calls and structured JSON responses, letting pipelines built for GPT models port with minimal rework.
Pros
- Ships an OpenAI-compatible API format, so existing GPT-based function-calling pipelines port with minimal rework.
- Priced well below Seed 2.1 Pro while ByteDance says it keeps the same feature set, an unusual combination for a frontier-class multimodal model.
- Built specifically for full-cycle coding delivery and long-chain agent execution rather than general-purpose chat.
Cons
- Not available on AWS Bedrock, Google Vertex AI, or Azure at launch, so teams outside Volcano Engine need a third-party aggregator or direct onboarding.
- No independently verified benchmark scores for Turbo itself; all competitive-parity claims are vendor-reported only.
- Context window not disclosed at launch, so long-context architectures need empirical testing before committing.
Benchmarks
A benchmark is an exam, not the job. Scores transfer unevenly between tasks, so weigh the one closest to your workload and read every figure with its source.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much do you pay for Seed 2.1 Turbo?
Turbo's native Volcano Engine rate is CNY 3 for every 1M input tokens and CNY 15 for every 1M output tokens, which works out to roughly 41 cents input and about $2 output in USD terms, half of what Seed 2.1 Pro charges. ByteDance had not announced a batch discount, cached-input rate, or provisioned-throughput tier at launch, so budget planning should stick to the standard per-token rate.
Does Seed 2.1 Turbo have a free plan?
No. Seed 2.1 Turbo is billed per token from the first API call, with no free tier or trial credits published at launch. Access requires a Volcano Engine (Volcano Ark) account or the Coze no-code platform, both of which meter usage from the start.
What should you use instead of Seed 2.1 Turbo?
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is a strong alternative if you want a published 86.9% GPQA Diamond score and a 1M-token context window instead of ByteDance's undisclosed spec. GPT-4o mini undercuts Turbo on sticker price at $0.15/$0.60 per 1M tokens but runs OpenAI's older 2024-era architecture. GPT-5.6 Luna offers a wider 200K context and OpenAI's broader cloud distribution for teams that don't want to onboard Volcano Engine.
Is Seed 2.1 Turbo better than Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite?
Where Seed 2.1 Turbo stays quiet on benchmarks, Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite has already published its numbers: an 86.9% result on GPQA Diamond and a million-token context limit. Turbo's case rests on ByteDance's coding-and-agent focus and a native fit for teams already running Volcano Ark or Coze pipelines. Anyone who needs documented benchmarks before sign-off is better served by Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite today.
How do you get started with Seed 2.1 Turbo?
Create a Volcano Engine (Volcano Ark) account and generate an API key, then call the OpenAI-compatible endpoint with existing function-calling code with minimal changes. Teams that prefer a visual builder over raw API calls can use the Coze platform instead. Test with representative long inputs first, since the exact context limit was not published at launch.
Top Alternatives
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: Pick Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite for its published GPQA Diamond benchmark and 1M-token context; pick Seed 2.1 Turbo when your pipelines already run on Volcano Engine for coding and agent work.
- GPT-4o mini: Pick GPT-4o mini when raw sticker price is the deciding factor; pick Seed 2.1 Turbo for ByteDance's newer Seed 2.1 architecture instead of a 2024-era OpenAI model.
- GPT-5.6 Luna: Pick GPT-5.6 Luna where a wider 200K context and OpenAI's multi-cloud distribution matter more; pick Seed 2.1 Turbo if your stack is already Volcano Engine and Coze.